Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   My hand dyeing experience (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/my-hand-dyeing-experience-t25238.html)

rb. 09-09-2009 07:25 AM

3 Attachment(s)
Went ok. Colours that seem solid are mottled, but the camera didn't pick it up. I'm no photographer. :lol:

Ducky 09-09-2009 07:39 AM

The colors turned out beautifully! Did you take a class or teach yourself? They are really great.

odysseyquilter 09-09-2009 07:40 AM

Absolutely G O R G E O U S!!! Was it hard to do? And what do you plan to make with it?

rb. 09-09-2009 08:01 AM

Originally Posted by Ducky
The colors turned out beautifully! Did you take a class or teach yourself? They are really great.

Thank you. Self taught. On Labour Day. :lol: Without a book, just a website I found with a lot of instructions. I need a book to learn all the important stuff, like WHY to do things, and HOW things work. I was pretty much winging it.

I had to just jump in because the batik-type fabrics I like I can only get for between $16 and $21 a metre here, and I'd buy online, but can't tell the coloour for certain.

rb. 09-09-2009 08:03 AM

Originally Posted by odysseyquilter
Absolutely G O R G E O U S!!! Was it hard to do? And what do you plan to make with it?

Not hard at all. I'm planning on doing more (only used 3 colours of the 16 dye colours I bought), since I'm looking for blues/greens and turquoises/purples for my two daughters' mariner's compass quilts. I also want to try a New York Beauty or two.

rb. 09-09-2009 08:05 AM

Anyone who is interested, the dyes were not very expensive, and the supplies to do it (ie. buckets, polished rocks, disposible beer cups, etc.) cost a total of $15 at the dollar store.

RedGarnet222 09-09-2009 08:11 AM

I love this! Can you give us the link to the website?

amandasgramma 09-09-2009 08:22 AM