Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   Opinions Needed for My Rail Fence Quilt Top. (Please) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/opinions-needed-my-rail-fence-quilt-top-please-t123269.html)

cny_sewer39 05-15-2011 11:18 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Good Afternoon, Every1, Again. :lol:

I need some other quilter's opinions, please. I could ask my DH but he will tell me that he likes it either way. I am posting to pictures of the Rail Fence Quilt that I am making in my first ever quilt class. I would like to know if you like the dark blue block on the bottom?? Or if the dark blue block on the top?? Any comments, help or suggestions are GREATLY APPRECIATED..
Thank you in advance for all of your help.

:-D :-D :-D :-D Have a blessed day. :-D :-D :-D :-D

:thumbup: :thumbup: debra :thumbup: :thumbup:

The dark blue block is in the middle. The dark blue is on the bottom of the block. Better on the BOTTOM????

The dark blue block is in the middle. The dark blue block in on the top. Better on the TOP????

wvhill22 05-15-2011 11:30 AM

I think either would be fine. I don't see a big difference. they look the same

sewgull 05-15-2011 11:45 AM

I think it would look nice to put the darkest piece first. Like you started with the green. The next piece I would put the dark pink on the left, then next row put the darkest color on top like the first square.
Think all the darks go the same direction and lights go in the same direction on each row.
Does this make any sense at all? I do like hyour color choices

JCL in FL 05-15-2011 12:03 PM

doesn't a rail fence pattern have the fabric step down a space each line? Like 123123
` 312312
231231 and change direction from horizontal one row and vertical the next? I may have the pattern mixed up.

Tink74 05-15-2011 12:27 PM

I like blue on the bottom...it flows with the dark green...

QuiltE 05-15-2011 01:02 PM

Ditto on the pattern not flowing right.
You have the placement right according to the direction of the strips .... except with your doing it in three different colourways, you need to create the zig zag pattern on the top with each colour. This way you are getting more of a basket weave look.

I do like the colours and the combo ... and honestly, I don't think it matters which one you have at which place on the edge as each colourway will flow diagonally down the quilt on the diagonal zig zag of a rail fence.

I know my explanation may not make sense ... take a look at this link ...
http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-624-1.htm
See how the zigzags go diagonally?
You will have the three different ones to work with. I'd start with getting one colour going it's way, then add the others and you'll soon get them going right.

eastermarie 05-15-2011 01:12 PM

The dark color in each set should have the same placement. I agree with QuiltE the zigzag pattern is not there. Your colors look nice together. Once you get your zigzags going , you'll see a big difference.

QuiltE 05-15-2011 01:17 PM

From what I can see in the pics, it looks like you have your strips of 5 across sewn together. Hate to tell you this, but I think you have some reverse stitching to do.

Then lay out the full quilt and get that pattern going .... and then sew it together assembly line style!

LivelyLady 05-15-2011 01:54 PM

Which ever you like best.......I like them both :-)

annyroony2 05-15-2011 03:18 PM

I prefer dark blue on top, however, I think both will work.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:57 AM.



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.