Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   WIP wall hanging...Applique questions. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/wip-wall-hanging-applique-questions-t114008.html)

Cheshire Cat 04-06-2011 11:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Making this for a friend who is an editor.

That is why I wrote the quote.

This is Moda Puncutation charm pack and the Dresden flowers made with the easy ruler.

Haven't measured it but it is about a yard square. I plan to add a border.

Lots of applique, I'm still new at it. Any advice?
I still have to the leaves for applique and frame the quote.

Do I pin it all on or do I just pin one piece at a time and hope to get the spacing right?

Do you use a hoop when you applique? I didn't for the center of the flowers but I"m not sure about putting the bigger pieces on.

Editor's wallhanging
[ATTACH=CONFIG]180460[/ATTACH]

Cheshire Cat 04-06-2011 11:25 AM

oh, one more quesiton. Would you quilt this first and then add the applique or applique and quilt around it? I plan to do a simple machine quilt of rays from the sun and probably around the flowers and the flower centers.

DeeBooper 04-06-2011 12:45 PM

It is going to be very beautiful but I'm sorry I'm not the one to answer your question. Don't know much about applique but I love it.

mimom 04-06-2011 01:00 PM

when I am appliquing several pieces that have to line up, I use a thick plastic vinyl that I purchased at joanns, its 14 gage and 48" wide sells by the yard. I lay it over the pattern and trace with a thin sharpie. Then when I need to add another piece to applique I lay the vinyl over the quilt and can then slide the new piece to be appliqued into the correct place. I do not pin all at once and often use Elmers washable stick glue to aid with keeping pieces in place if I have a pin in the way of my sewing.

amma 04-06-2011 01:00 PM

Are you hand or machine sewing these down?