Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Quilts to Sweden >

Quilts to Sweden

Quilts to Sweden

Old 10-18-2020, 04:02 AM

Default Quilts to Sweden

This post is actually a test to see if I can move a scanned picture over to my picture file on my computer & then post it here.

I have a pen pal in Sweden that I've been corresponding with since I was 14 years old (63 years). I made her a quilt back in 2003 and wanted to share this picture with you. The top picture is of the quilt in her home in Sweden & the bottom (strippy) quilt is a quilt that I made for her first grandchild. It's made from fabric with bears on it & I also sent a little stuffed bear along with the quilt. You can see him on the left side just almost out of the picture.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Quitls for Sweden.pdf (496.2 KB, 995 views)
Old 10-18-2020, 04:56 AM

Lovely quilts and a great correspondence throughout the years. I, too, have had a penpal in Australia since I was 8 yrs. old (61 yrs.) and have sent her a wall hanging to celebrate the millenium and her grandchild a birth quilt also. Have you ever met yours? Because of a strange twist of events, I have met mine probably 10 times or more, mostly in the US. Her daughter married an American foreign exchange student and moved back to live permanently in Illinois. They come periodically and we always make an attempt to meet or have them to our house. We finally took a tour of Australia in 2013 and had the opportunity to stay with them for two weeks after the tour, for a trip of a lifetime. Hope you get to see yours. Because we have been corresponding for years, it was like meeting a neighbor that you had talked to over a fence, but had never seen. LOL
Old 10-18-2020, 06:19 AM

Those quilts are lovely! That’s so awesome that you have kept your pen pal for that long.
Old 10-18-2020, 08:09 AM