Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   Need ideas for Alzheimers Patients (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/need-ideas-alzheimers-patients-t159560.html)

MsMel 10-10-2011 10:25 PM

I am a nurse who frequently works in an Alzheimers Unit....We have several patients who enjoy busy mats....these are similar to dolls I have seen that have zippers, buttons, snaps, that don't detach. Pockets with things (animal shapes) that are attached to the mat with ribbon are on some of them as well. I would say the ones we have are about 11 X 14....I would love to make some new ones for my patients, ideally I would like to have one for each, but realistically I would like to be able to make enough that we had at least a dozen for use in the common area.....Does anyone know where I might find a pattern for these?

Any other ideas are greatly appreciated as well :)

craftybear 10-10-2011 10:27 PM

I will search and see if I can find you a pattern

I'm going to bed now 2:27 a.m in central Indiana

It has been a long 4 days, hubby still in hospital and I have been calling the hospital to chat with the nurses about his updates, he has a bad staph infection

Originally Posted by MsMel
I am a nurse who frequently works in an Alzheimers Unit....We have several patients who enjoy busy mats....these are similar to dolls I have seen that have zippers, buttons, snaps, that don't detach. Pockets with things (animal shapes) that are attached to the mat with ribbon are on some of them as well. I would say the ones we have are about 11 X 14....I would love to make some new ones for my patients, ideally I would like to have one for each, but realistically I would like to be able to make enough that we had at least a dozen for use in the common area.....Does anyone know where I might find a pattern for these?