Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   quilting on minky (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/quilting-minky-t213423.html)

JanTx 02-09-2013 05:41 PM

quilting on minky

3 Attachment(s)
There have been a couple of threads lately about using minky for backings. I chimed in on them as if I knew what I were doing. I have made several quilts with Minky backings, but sure have a lot to learn! I am also fairly new to FMQ, though I love to do it. I generally spray baste - or washable glue baste - and stablilize the quilt with straight lines before doing some FMQ in each block. (In this case, in each strip.)

Anyway - here's my latest effort. It's a baby quilt with batting and a minky backing. That makes it pretty heavy for a South Texas baby, but it should lay nicely on the floor and is so soft and cushy. I used batting because the backing showed through the white and light colors of the top.

I have a new Janome 6600 that I'm learning to use. The straight quilting was done with the dual feed foot (walking foot). The loop-de-loops and flowers were made with the FMQ foot.

I will be using store-bought satin binding and have sewn a stitch around the edges to help with that. I dread binding and really prefer to pull the backing over for the binding. Not possible with this one, though.

I can't wait to give this to the mom and dad to be. The dad was my daughter's best friend growing up. His mom and I are 2:00 AM friends - could call each other at that time for any reason.

QuiltnNan 02-09-2013 05:45 PM

nicely done ... i'm afraid to try minkee :)

Diane007 02-09-2013 06:53 PM

very nice quilt

fleurdelisquilts 02-09-2013 07:06 PM

pretty and colorful....minky scares me, too, but I have used it. Not much though, and not on the long arm. I'm afraid it will stretch then shrink back and be all wonky-wobbly. Not something I want, anyway.

Wine Woman 02-09-2013 07:12 PM