Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Recipes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/)
-   -   Breaded chicken??? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/breaded-chicken-t266761.html)

true4uca 06-23-2015 09:13 AM

Breaded chicken???

I just breaded a family pack of drum sticks, yuck. Seems there was a lot of blood on the ends. I did buy (first time) the chicken from Walmart. It was for a pot luck, otherwise I'd never buy such a large amount. What step did I miss, a friend told me I was supposed to brine it. I only ever bread chicken once every few years, I've never ever used brine.

NJ Quilter 06-24-2015 04:02 AM

I always wash/rinse chicken before doing anything with it. Run it under warm/hot water and then go about any breading; seasoning; etc. before cooking. I've never used a brine before either - particularly for chicken. Only other think I would have done is probably use melted butter to help the breading stick. Some folks use milk for that purpose as well.

linmid 06-24-2015 04:04 AM

I don't brine either. Just rinse chicken, put flour, salt, pepper in plastic bag shake good take out put in skillet that has hot grease and fry.

dd 06-24-2015 04:28 AM

If there is a lot of blood you can soak in salt water to draw out the blood. Not normally a problem with chicken. Some people soak in buttermilk. I didn't care for that when I tried it. I like to season with Season All and Hickory Smoke seasoning on fried chicken.

Geri B 06-24-2015 05:00 AM

I always rinse off chicken before doing anything with it. As far as breading- salt and peppered flour in a ziplock, shake off excess, dip in beaten egg, then roll in seasoned breadcrumbs, and skillet fry...I do that more than " just a few times a yr.". Actually this is my go-to for any breaded.....meat or veggie......my new found wow that's good----breaded pickle slices!

mlt150 06-24-2015 06:42 AM