Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   More On Clipping Seams / Swirling (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/more-clipping-seams-swirling-t267636.html)

Melanie Rudy 07-16-2015 06:34 AM

More On Clipping Seams / Swirling

When I posted my response to the "Cliping Seams" thread yesterday another member suggested that I start my information as a new thread.

I am a seamstress and instructor and always tell my students not to clip seams on quilts. In particular I do not like the technique where you clip the seam thread at the heavy intersection of fabric then swirl it flat. I will never, ever clip a seam or use this swirl technique to reduce bulk. I do not like either technique in quilting and wish all quilters would stop worrying about this tiny bit of bulk. Press the heavy seams as best as you can open or to one side. It will get hidden in the batting of the quilt and absolutely does not matter. The clipping ruins the seams and over time these broken seams will come apart. If I sound firm it is because I want all of your gorgeous quilts that you have put so much effort into have the longest quilt life possible :)

I would like like to add that as a trained tailor and dressmaker when the clipped seams are used for garment construction this is done on curves to make them lay flat. It is not intended to reduce bulk. Reducing bulk is done by grading seams which is not a suitable technique for quilting.

Thank you for reading this post and I look forward to your comments. I have read the "Rubber Mallet" idea and think it's a good one if you feel strongly that you still wish to flatten the bulk.

ManiacQuilter2 07-16-2015 06:41 AM