Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   A call to all quilters! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/call-all-quilters-t278471.html)

Bernina94 05-08-2016 09:15 PM

A call to all quilters!

Hello Everyone!
I hope this message finds you well. I am a student at Vassar College writing a research paper for my Art and Activism class that centers the "Exquisite Intimacy" of Quilting. My research seeks to examine quilting communities of the digital age and the role of online forums and sites in facilitating the building of communities - especially for quilters who for various reasons may not have access to the in-person quilting experience. I am also looking into the many ways in which technology is being employed in quilting - like computer generated quilting blocks, the influence of instagram on the instant exchange of imagery and design. Here are a few questions that I would love to hear your thoughts on:

• Where are you from geographically? Do you live in a small town, suburbs, or a city?
  • What is your age/ gender/profession/ marital status?
  • How long have you been quilting?
  • How long have you engaged in online quilting communities and resources? And why did you first join?
  • What other means of communication do you use to stay in touch with others quilters and the quilting community at large?
  • Do you have access to in-person quilting communities and classes near you?
  • What have been the social benefits of being involved in an online quilting forum?
  • Do you feel that your presence here has influenced the quality/artistry of your quilting? If so, how?
  • Would you consider yourself very active in social media outside of quilting oriented sites? To what extent would you say that you are technologically savvy?
  • How much time do you dedicate to quilting and crafting per week?
  • What is your opinion of computer generated quilting patterns and resources?