Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Oiling my machine (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/oiling-my-machine-t294763.html)

RJLinkletter 02-13-2018 02:31 PM

Oiling my machine

I'm new to machine quilting and got my first sewing machine at Christmas. Obviously I want to look after it and have read about people oiling their machines etc. In the manual for my Brother machine it says that users should not oil the machine - only dealers. Is this right? And if so how often should I take it to be serviced?

Pat M. 02-13-2018 02:32 PM

What type of Brother do you have? Read your manual.

Austinite 02-13-2018 02:40 PM

Definitely check your manual, many modern DSMs (domestic sewing machines) do not need oiling.

SusieQOH 02-13-2018 02:41 PM

I also say read your manual. I don't oil my Bernina at all. My Juki, on the other hand, needs oil and the manual explains it.

bjchad 02-13-2018 03:01 PM

The manual says no oiling so it’s right. Machines like this should be serviced about once a year or so. Depends on how much you use it. With light use you may be able to stretch the service to every two years. At least that is what I’ve been told.

Prism99 02-13-2018 03:15 PM

Most vintage machines need oiling, but most modern machines do not.

Edit: My Bernina 1230, which is now probably "vintage" since it is getting close to 20 years old, requires only oiling of the bobbin race. I don't know if top-loading bobbins need oiling, though; mine is the other kind.

QuiltE 02-13-2018 03:17 PM

Originally Posted by Patricia M. (Post 8002801)
..........Read your manual.

.........and speak with your dealer. They have the knowledge and training to advise you on the specific model.

Correct ... Some machines are not meant to be oiled by the user.
Correct ... Some machines are meant to be oiled.

I have one of each ...............

Rhonda K 02-13-2018 03:32 PM