Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   To label or not to label? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/label-not-label-t298319.html)

Kikki5183 07-17-2018 06:42 PM

To label or not to label?

So at my local fair, the quilt judges have expressed the need for quilts the have labels with the name of the quilt/year finish/name of the quilter. While I understand the sentiment of marking the quilt for future generations, I'm new to quilting and I haven't really figured out a good way to do this. So for you all I have a couple questions.1)Do you label your quilts? Why/why not?2)What info would you put on the labels?3)How would you make/attach the label?Thanks!

Tartan 07-17-2018 06:55 PM

​When quilts are judged here, the name must be covered so no one knows who the quilt belongs to for fairness. I like to use corner labels like Bonnie Hunter and cover the information for judging.

Maggie_Sue 07-17-2018 07:29 PM

I do label my quilts, and like Tartan, our labels need to be covered for judging.

joe'smom 07-17-2018 08:19 PM

I label my quilts so that whoever comes across them in the future will know something about them. I put the name of the quilt, whether it is machine or hand pieced, machine or hand quilted, the dates of piecing and quilting, my name and town, the recipient and town, the name of pattern and designer, and if it happens to be all one fabric line, the name of the fabric line and designer.

I print this information on a light piece of fabric with a permanent marker (I tried printing out labels on freezer paper but they jammed), then frame the label, usually with the same fabric as the binding, then turn under the frame edges and hand stitch as with the binding, after quilting.

Mkotch 07-18-2018 02:09 AM