Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Prewash flannel for rag quilt? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/prewash-flannel-rag-quilt-t301070.html)

Jcarpentier 11-21-2018 07:33 AM

Prewash flannel for rag quilt?

Good morning all,

I am new to using flannel and I want to know if I should wash it before assembling a rag quilt? I have heard flannel shrinks quite a lot. Looking for advice from people with more experience than me.

Thanks! JC

QuiltnNan 11-21-2018 07:46 AM

I always do. and different flannels shrink at different rates. also, the same flannel, if laid out wof or length, may shrink at different rates.

ckcowl 11-21-2018 08:10 AM

When doing rag quilts I have never prewashed the flannel. I put my sandwich squares together, stitch an X across them to hold everything together, or quilt them , assemble, clip then I take it outside & give it a really good shake ( the birds collect the threads/ fluff. If it’s a big quilt I take it to the laundromat & use their largest machine, if it’s not so big I launder it at home. After the first spin cycle I stop the machine, take it out & go outside to shake the dickens out of it again- I clean out any stuff left in the washer put it back in and finish the cycle. I do it all again ( outside to shake etc) before it goes into the dryer, after about 20 minutes I take it out, empty the full lint trap, take it out for a good shake then finish drying. I’ve never had any come out bad due to uneven shrinking or anything else. The batting and stitching helps. My family loves raggy quilts.

dunster 11-21-2018 08:15 AM