Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   It's Finished! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/its-finished-t307200.html)

juliasb 09-30-2019 08:42 AM

It's Finished!

2 Attachment(s)
I started this quilt during the summer. I had a few delays but just finished it a few minutes ago. This quilt is unique to me because I am a very traditional quilter and this quilt is a bunch of techniques I have never done before. I did a number of different motifs as I did this QAYG project. I have done other QAYG quilts but none that I have completed by stacking one piece to the other as the quilt grew. Amazing way to work. I will do this again very soon. Mostly it was the sandwiching and basting that became fun instead of a chore. I used the Elmer's Washable School Glue. The quilt will go in the wash when I finish this message. Most of the quilting is FMQ that I thoroughly enjoyed. One section I did make as a foundation block. That too was fun. Row by Row it got bigger. I thought I was going to make a small baby quilt but it just kept growing. Now it measures 69"x 82". Last but not least, though people have been doing this for many years I did my first all machine sewn binding. I have always done my bindings one side by machine and the other side by hand. I will need a bit more practice on this as well as other new things I tried.

Here are some pictures: I also did a bit of stippling and FMQ the feathers on the last row. Like with any quilt I ran into a couple of problems getting it square. In the end it is a fun quilt and I learned a great deal of new things that I can apply in future quilts.

nativetexan 09-30-2019 09:08 AM

Oh so cute! love your feather work!!

Tartan 09-30-2019 10:11 AM

​Well done!

QuiltnNan 09-30-2019 10:21 AM

nicely done

helou 09-30-2019 10:55 AM

cute quilt and nice that you tried different technics at the same time"

Darcyshannon 09-30-2019 03:47 PM