Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   binding with ribbon on unwashed flannel? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/binding-ribbon-unwashed-flannel-t30896.html)

armaynes 12-04-2009 10:01 PM

Does anyone know if there's a way to bind an unwashed flannel quilt with satin ribbon? Do I have to wash my quilted, un-bound project BEFORE applying the binding? I'm fairly new to quilting and I don't wash any of my fabrics or batting before starting and it's worked fine. I just don't know if the satin ribbon would shrink at all, or if I can use it at all. Any one with answers? Thanks!

Moonpi 12-05-2009 03:08 AM

I don't know about the ribbon, but flannel shrinks like mad! I've never seen the (poly) satin shrink, but when the flannel does, it will pucker the binding.

needlehappy 12-05-2009 05:49 AM

I agree with Moonpi. Wash the quilt first. You will be dissapointed when the flannel shrinks and the binding doesn't.

DA Mayer 12-05-2009 05:54 AM

I made a baby one recently, washed the flannel and applied the silky blanket binding. That worked great. Hope this helps. The blanket was then washed by the mom before baby used it.

armaynes 12-05-2009 10:29 AM

Thanks Guys! Does anyone know of a reason I can't wash an unbound quilt? I would think it shouldn't fall apart as long as it's well quilted, right? And quilt it really close to the edges to hold it? I knew the flannel would shrink, but I wasn't sure about the ribbon. I appreciate the help so far!

Tiffany 12-05-2009 11:01 AM

Originally Posted by armaynes
Thanks Guys! Does anyone know of a reason I can't wash an unbound quilt? I would think it shouldn't fall apart as long as it's well quilted, right? And quilt it really close to the edges to hold it? I knew the flannel would shrink, but I wasn't sure about the ribbon. I appreciate the help so far!