Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Domestic imperial automatic/white automatic 651 (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/domestic-imperial-automatic-white-automatic-651-a-t310961.html)

Brayjj 05-12-2020 04:11 AM

Domestic imperial automatic/white automatic 651

I am new to vintage sewing machine. I saved a domestic imperial automatic 651 from the trash. She looks like the white model 651. Does anyone have a manual for this machine? She was completely locked up. Not knowing what we are doing we put liquid wrench on her to loosen her up and lots of oil. The needle was stuck down inside the presser foot and everything was tight. We got her to move a little now and plugged her in to see. She sounds horrible. We are wondering if the motor is bad or she's just still locked up. She came with a few cams and feet. The little plastic knob above the cam door doesn't turn either. Allthe knobs were stuck tight but they are slowly getting loose. Any suggestions?
thanks!

JoeJr 05-12-2020 05:42 AM

First, I would not try to run the motor until the machine turns freely by hand, too much risk damaging the motor. From pictures I looked at for a White 651 it is likely that the machine is all metal, meaning unless someone took a hammer to it nothing is broken inside (you hope).