Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Greetings, new to using sewing machines... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/greetings-new-using-sewing-machines-t311924.html)

GwensBlaze 07-26-2020 04:17 AM

Greetings, new to using sewing machines...

Greetings, I've never been part of a forum or discussion group. I'm a bit excited and a bit nervous. I am very new to using sewimg machines, (so new i have yet to use one, been a hand sewer for 25years) Im finally ready to learn, is there any tips or tricks y'all wish you would have had as a beginner.

cjsews 07-26-2020 04:28 AM

Welcome from Tennessee. The biggest tip is to learn where your 1/4 inch setting is on your machine. If you can adjust the speed on your machine, turn it down just a bit until you learn to control it. Happy quilting

juliasb 07-26-2020 04:35 AM

Welcome to the QB! This is a great place for beginners and all the way to professional sewers and quilters. We love to have new quilters and sewers. Have you purchased a sewing machine yet? For someone like yourself I would start with a simple machine to familiarize yourself with the basics before spending a larger amount of $$ on a big machine that you may or may not use. Walmart carries some basic machines if you want something new. For now I would stay away from thrift store models only because of your inexperience in knowing if something is not working right or wrong and not knowing what part is what part. As you learn your way around a sewing machine that would become a great option for someone looking for vintage machines (like me). Get with you machine some thread and fabric and a couple of other tools. Scissors, rotary cutter, self healing cutting mat, and an acrylic ruler. Becoming a quilter is easy enough as you can start with easy shapes and make a beautiful quilt.