Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How many people does it take to load a quilting machine? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-many-people-does-take-load-quilting-machine-t39226.html)

Carol in Colorado 03-11-2010 09:14 AM

Seriously!! I loaded a new quilt on my machine last night and it took me almost 2 hours!!! I know I'm new at this, but is this normal? I always have my husband help roll the fabric while I try to keep it straight and tight. Am I doing something wrong?

kathy 03-11-2010 09:54 AM

me too Sista! I'm thinking of getting zippers for my leaders because by the time I get one all pinned on and ready to go my back hurts and I'm too tired to start quilting. Maybe neither of us know what we're doing. :oops:

Marjpf 03-11-2010 10:01 AM

I prefer having two people to load it. I've done it by myself, but spend a lot of the time growling. You do get a bit faster with practice.

mytwopals 03-11-2010 10:04 AM

It takes me 1-2 hours to load one on my frame, too. That's backing, batting and top. I only pin the backing, though. Once I have the backing pinned, I roll the batting, then I sew a line across the end of the batting to attach it to the backing. I do the same for the quilt top. I do not sew through the leaders, only the backing about 1/2" off the leaders.

Carol in Colorado 03-11-2010 10:17 AM

Great idea. I'll have to try that.

BellaBoo 03-11-2010 10:18 AM

This is the main reason I don't have a longarm set up. I have helped load quilts on many different kinds of frames and it is too big a hassle. I know I'd have a pile of quilts sitting there waiting to be put on the frame and me not wanting to do it.

cutebuns 03-11-2010 10:27 AM