Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Favorite sewing machine??? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/favorite-sewing-machine-t43489.html)

phyllis b 04-21-2010 05:54 PM

I am a new member and I am new to quilting...I am sewing on a Jem Gold and an Industrial Necchi....I am creating my second machine quilted quilt and am so excited.

My husband offered to buy me a new sewing machine....$1,000ish....Which machine do you suggest????

I want to learn how to free motion quilt.

Scissor Queen 04-21-2010 05:56 PM

I'd talk him into another $600 or so and wait a month or two and get the Janome MC660. It's an awesome machine!

dkabasketlady 04-21-2010 05:58 PM

Hi and welcome from the sunny state of FL. You'll get a lot of suggestions for the BEST machine, but I use a 1964 White sewing machine.

sharon b 04-21-2010 07:59 PM

Hello and Welcome from Northern Indiana !

As for a new sewing machine.. you can use the search button on top and type in "new machine " and find lots of topics to get you started .

Also make a list of "your" must haves on a new machine, for example, needle up/down, feed dogs drop, how many fancy stitches ( if you even want or need them ) What do you want the machine to be able to do ?

Also go to any local dealers and talk to them , test drive the machine, play with them and have fun :mrgreen:

MegsAnn 04-21-2010 11:49 PM

Sorry Phyllis can't help you here. I'm using my mom's old Kenmore. It works just fine for now so I haven't looked at new lines at all.

But welcome to the forum!

patricej 04-22-2010 12:00 AM

i am most in love with my Janome MC660P. my second love is my MC11000 because it also embroiders.