Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Lean quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/lean-quilting-t43938.html)

Borntohandquilt 04-25-2010 11:11 PM

How did you all learn quilting? Self-taught? Learned from mother, grandmother, auntie, friends? Workshops? Books?
I am really curious, please tell me... :-)

amma 04-25-2010 11:14 PM

Books, online videos/tutorials, here on the board and tv shows :D:D:D
No one in my family is interested in quilting, nor in my group of friends. All of my family who quilted were deceased when I had the iterest to start learning to quilt.

Pepita 04-25-2010 11:37 PM

My first quilt was made when I was in 7th grade. I tried to copy a quilt my grandmother had made (dresden plate with a ice cream cone border) No one in my family sewed! I finished the top and didn't quilt it. My older sister got it and took it to a group of women that got together and quilted for money, as my college graduation. What a surprise! Then when I was going to have my first child, I made him a quilt and then I made many after that. I watched PBS Nancy Zeman and Georgia Bonesteel to learn about quilting. Since then other quilting programs Simply Quilts and tons of books. I have taken classes at quilt festival, and a couple of classes at quilt shops.

knlsmith 04-26-2010 12:10 AM

Mostly self taught. A few classes but nothing I didn't already know. Took them more to meet people with similar interest. Then I met this board earlier this year and find all the info priceless.

1quilt_gma 04-26-2010 01:01 AM

I read, bought quilting books, started with a couple of huge whole quilts, one showing planets and one monster trucks going over rocks. I sewed around every planet, every truck and rock. Those took me about 2 years to finish. I learned what not to do, and two of my GC are enjoying those quilts now.