Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Is quilting with rulers easy? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-rulers-easy-t312173.html)

linmarlang 08-18-2020 06:56 AM

Is quilting with rulers easy?

I am new to FMQ and was wondering how easy is it to quilt with rulers on a Janome 4300 QDC? I don’t have a ruler foot or ruler yet but would like to fill some 2”x4” flying geese on a baby quilt with geometric designs and was thinking this is the best way to get straight lines. Your thoughts please?

Tartan 08-18-2020 07:04 AM

There is a learning curve but I love it on my Bernina. You do need the ruler foot and the extra thick rulers for ruler work. The gripper tape that goes on the back of the rulers is helpful and creative grid rulers come with a little bit of non slip edge on them. Angela Walters has a new small ruler called Sid that comes with a short straight edge and a curved side. Westalee also has many fun rulers and both Westalee and Angela have YouTube videos on ruler use.

linmarlang 08-18-2020 07:07 AM

Originally Posted by Tartan (Post 8411018)
There is a learning curve but I love it on my Bernina. You do need the ruler foot and the extra thick rulers for ruler work. The gripper tape that goes on the back of the rulers is helpful and creative grid rulers come with a little bit of non slip edge on them. Angela Walters has a new small ruler called Sid that comes with a short straight edge and a curved side. Westalee also has many fun rulers and both Westalee and Angela have YouTube videos on ruler use.

Yes I saw her videos and that is what is making me ask. She makes it look so easy!

juliasb 08-18-2020 08:06 AM