Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Too many "Hitch hikers" on this board...

  1. #1
    T.
    T. is offline
    Senior Member T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    411

    Too many "Hitch hikers" on this board...

    I don't know if this happens to anyone else, but me ?
    Every time I visit this board, "hitch hikers" come along & plant those "pop-ups" that interfere with every other site that I go to. Proof is ONLY when I try to write a message while on this board, my key board skips letters or the space bar is not responsive. At first I thought it was because I type too fast (hardly possible); but it happens the entire time & only happens while I am on the board. I have only been on the board for a half an hour, only posted on reply to a message, and I am struggling writing this message. Although they may not be viruses, they definitely do something to my computer; I am struggling trying to write this message. For every 5 or 6 characters, I have to go back to either fill in a letter that got skipped or put in a space between two words. I had to stop & scanned my computer 3 times. The first time, 13 potential threats were removed, the second time,5; and I am now starting to scan again.
    Is there anything that can be done about this? I am goin to letyou ssee wattdoes withoutgoing bako correcti.
    Thankyou,

  2. #2
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    666
    Blog Entries
    3
    If you're using IE, click on compatibility mode, also click on the icon a/A in the row of icons. That will fix the typing problem. As for popups, good internet security is a must, there are many free ones, I think the one people here mostly recommend is Adblock.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  3. #3
    Super Member jetayre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    2,055
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by mzzzquilts View Post
    If you're using IE, click on compatibility mode, also click on the icon a/A in the row of icons. That will fix the typing problem. As for popups, good internet security is a must, there are many free ones, I think the one people here mostly recommend is Adblock.
    What or were is the compatibility mode? I am having same problem.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MamaHen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North Florida
    Posts
    968
    I would leave the compatibility mode alone if this is the only site your having problems with. It could mess up your other sites if one doesn't know how it works. Just click on the a/A above to the left of your reply and you should be able to type fine. That's my suggestions because I messed with compatibility mode one time & had nothing but headaches.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Tall Corn State
    Posts
    1,213
    Yep - just had the computer Doctor at my house yesterday to remove tons of spyware/adware. Really have to be careful what you download. He said very common and the spyware is VERY cleaver on how they trick us in getting infected. Be careful out there -

  6. #6
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14,797
    T. ..... the symptoms you have described happened to me.
    Solution ... switched from Internet Explorer to Chrome and like magic it was gone.
    At a later time, I went back to IE and guess what? same thing ... so back to Chrome I went.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,139
    Malware Bytes has a basic free download. I just downloaded it this week. I had 11,000 malware (ad hickies) on my computer. Cleaned them all up....took a long time, and you can't be using your computer while it is running, but it is amazing how fast my system is and no pop ups. BTW, to you have pop ups blocked on your computer?
    Go to Tools, there is a tab for Pop Up blocker, turn it on. Perhaps that will help.

  8. #8
    Senior Member mzzzquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hudson, MI
    Posts
    666
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by jetayre View Post
    What or were is the compatibility mode? I am having same problem.
    It's in tools. If you have the toolbar showing file/edit/view/favorites/tools/help, click on tools and go down to view compatibility mode. If you don't have that toolbar showing, click on the "gear" icon and find it there. Changing the mode only affects the site that you're on when you click it, not all of them. That's what I did, so I didn't have to mess with the a/A icon each time.
    MzzzQuilts aka Ellen

  9. #9
    Senior Member crafty-kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Chisago City, Minne-snow-ta
    Posts
    301
    Funny that we all have the same issues. I'm there with you also!
    I tried the a/A button.....if that doesn't help I will switch to Chrome.
    -Teri from Minne-sn*w-ta

  10. #10
    Super Member Barb_MO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    2,471
    I have the same problem.

  11. #11
    Super Member quiltjoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,078
    Get a Mac computer and don't run Windows on it!

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South Carolina, just south of Charlotte
    Posts
    409
    I have this problem too. I wonder what the A/A is for. I hit it and now can type fine. That's weird!

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    8,568
    Blog Entries
    14
    Have the same problem on my tablet! Thought it was just me! Cleaned a lot of bookmarks n stuff out better but still issues!! Grrr!i

  14. #14
    Super Member sak658's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    down Houston way...
    Posts
    1,528
    Blog Entries
    1
    I had so many popups and ads on my computer...didn't matter what site I was on...My daughter told me it was my browser not the computer...I have Chrome and she told me to go to YouTube and search for how to get rid of ads and popups on Chrome..I did and it walks you right thru what to do...I've been putting up with this for weeks...what a relief it is now...hope this helps you all too...

  15. #15
    Super Member AZ Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,665
    You can try Foxfire, I use that instead of IE. No issues at all!!
    Better to do something imperfectly, than nothing perfectly.
    Done is better than perfect.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    280
    Thank you so much mzzzquilts. I had the same problem with trying to respond to the posts. I thought it was me until I read this thread. I clicked on the A/A above and it's working perfectly. Joyce

  17. #17
    Super Member amyjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Dakota
    Posts
    2,386
    Blog Entries
    18
    Whatever you do, don't have anything to do with Adobe Flash that is popping up on the computer. Mine just jumped right on in and took over my computer. Had to get malware stuff to get rid of it. I didn't click on it or anything.

  18. #18
    QM
    QM is offline
    Power Poster QM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northern California mountains
    Posts
    12,542
    sounds nasty. It's the pop ups that drive me crazy. I don't see a pop up blocker in tools.

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,139
    Click on Tools, just under View Downloads is Pop Up Blocker...and for those looking for compatibility mode...it is a few items down from the Pop Up Blocker.

  20. #20
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    10,724
    My computer was hacked last month...I had to change my back accounts and have my whole computer cleaned...Got to be careful with the sites you open.....

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    71
    On my computer compatibility mood is under tools and internet options. I just click on the A/A in the upper left corner and have no problems. It pays to be careful about the adjustments one makes as they can create more problems than one already has. A good anti-virus program is a must. I use the free AVG one. As long as the A/A works for me I will not mess around trying to change compatibility settings. I have windows 8 on my computer.

  22. #22
    Super Member damaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Barnesville GA
    Posts
    3,258
    Well its nice to know it wasn't just me. Today seems to be better and I haven't done anything .

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by abc123xyz View Post
    On my computer compatibility mood is under tools and internet options. I just click on the A/A in the upper left corner and have no problems. It pays to be careful about the adjustments one makes as they can create more problems than one already has. A good anti-virus program is a must. I use the free AVG one. As long as the A/A works for me I will not mess around trying to change compatibility settings. I have windows 8 on my computer.
    Oops! Mean to say that is where I found pop-up blocker. It is checked on mine. Compatibility view setting is just above internet options. Didn't mean to lead anyone astray.

  24. #24
    Senior Member csharp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Happily @ Southwest Florida
    Posts
    834
    I have this same problem and it seem that the a/A click has fixed it...thanks so much. Will it be necessary to do this each time???
    Last edited by csharp; 02-08-2014 at 04:20 PM.
    with a passion for quilting and vintage machines..Singers: 99, 4 featherweights, Redeye 66, Lotus 66, Phoenix 27, 15-91, 301A
    Colleen S.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW, MI
    Posts
    271
    Blog Entries
    16
    Oh yes - pop-ups and redirects are driving me crazy

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.