Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Recipes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/)
-   -   gluten free flour (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/gluten-free-flour-t288391.html)

mim 05-20-2017 11:33 AM

gluten free flour

I'm new at this since November.

We made another batch of gingersnaps this afternoon and used a different brand of flour. I usually use Red Mill -- I didn't look at the ingredients and the new flour was all rice flour -- The cookies ended up flat and crumbly.

What brand do you use??

With the Red Mill I usually add an extra 1/4 cup and 1/2 tsp xanthan gum per cup of flour.

I use bisquick mix (gluten free) to make pancakes. Every Sunday we have blueberry pancakes and maple syrup. It is a family tradition.

Thanks -- Mim

Kassaundra 05-20-2017 11:55 AM

I have been GF for over 15 years, when I had to go GF there were not the choices that exist today so I never got much into baking. However the little I've done over the years w/ GF baking you really need a blend of flours. Sorghum flour was the main staple base I used adding some rice, sweet rice, tapioca, oat, soy or nut flours. (usually only 2 other flours) But now most sources for GF flour have it already in an blend where you just have to add the xanthum and guar.

Have you tried the banana, egg pancakes no flour at all, they could easily be turned into blue berry pancakes. My husband does not have to be GF (and isn't) but he prefers those pancakes to regular. (I usually add a tablespoon or two of GF oat flour b/c it makes a more believable texture.)

Kassaundra 05-20-2017 11:56 AM

Oh and the egg / cream cheese bread. It is also completely grain free, and the best "fake" bread I've come across.

cashs_mom 05-20-2017 12:43 PM