Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Cutting mat  - left to right or right to left >

Cutting mat - left to right or right to left

Cutting mat - left to right or right to left

Old 05-15-2011, 08:27 AM

I'm a self taught quilter so I may very well have taught myself a bad habit. I like measuring and cutting from right to left and bottom to top (ie I place the lower right corner of fabric in the lower right corner of mat and slide my ruler to the left as I measure out to cut). I was OK with this until I bought a new cutting mat.

My Omnigrid (old mat) has horizontal markings that begin with 1" in the lower right corner and the vertical markings have both 1" in a small font and the large font is the reverse marking (24").

I bought a new mat recently to cover my entire board. It's not a self healing mat - it's the other type (made by Beba). Anyway, I didn't notice that mat is oriented to the left - both the vertical and horizontal markings for 1" are ONLY in the lower left corner. If I want to measure in both directions from the right I have to count backwards!! Wish I had noticed this when I bought it. If I flip it to the opposite side, the horizontal markings are left to right but the vertical markings are top to bottom. No where on the mat do the 1" markings meet at a corner.

So I wondered ... does anyone (other than lefties) cut from left to right? I looked at quite a few mats online just now and there seems to be as many right to left as there are left to right.

Argh ... I just went and marked my new mat with a magic marker to see if that will end my aggravation.

Omnigrid mat
[ATTACH=CONFIG]197331[/ATTACH]

Beba mat
[ATTACH=CONFIG]197332[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-197325.jpe   attachment-197326.jpe  
Old 05-15-2011, 08:29 AM

Right to left here! I'm right handed.
Old 05-15-2011, 08:36 AM