Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
fluffy quilts >

fluffy quilts

fluffy quilts

Old 06-22-2011, 12:37 PM

I am rather new to quilting and have learned a lot from all of you. I have followed all the suggestions I have found on this site and have finished several quilts. I used for the batting Warm and Natural since it seemed to be what most use. I am very pleased, with the outcome but they seem stiff and not the fluffy ones I knew as a child that I could snuggle up in...Is this due to the batting? If so what do I use to get that feeling.
Old 06-22-2011, 12:49 PM

That's due to the batting, yes! For fluffier quilts, you would use a higher-loft polyester batting. Cottons tend to result in much 'thinner' quilts.
Old 06-22-2011, 12:50 PM

I have used a lot of the Warm and Natural batting and also found it to be heavy and not as cuddly as I like. I tried the Hobbs cotton [80/20) and like it for the softer and lighter weight. I have a lot of Warm and Natural on hand but want to try other Hobbs products also.
Old 06-22-2011, 01:27 PM
Power Poster

I too like the fluffier quilts.
Old 06-22-2011, 01:43 PM

You might like wool batting. It's light and wrapable
Old 06-22-2011, 01:49 PM

Originally Posted by Jennalyn
That's due to the batting, yes! For fluffier quilts, you would use a higher-loft polyester batting. Cottons tend to result in much 'thinner' quilts.
I would use wool instead of polyester. Wool tends to breathe better and it's a more natural fabric, which is something I really like. Just my opinion :)
Old 06-22-2011, 02:49 PM
Power Poster

oh my there are so many wonderful lofty batts on the market---time to step outside that box you put yourself in and try out some others.
read the packaging- it will tell you the loft--anywhere between 1/8" and 1"...and all measurements in between (w&n is 1/4")
wool is a bit spendy===but definitly worth it for the really great quilts!