Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from Wisconsin >

Hello from Wisconsin

Hello from Wisconsin

Old 07-07-2007, 10:14 AM

I am Cathe, and I have been sewing for over 35 years, making quilts for over 20 years and teaching quiltmaking for about 12 years. My website is
http://www.gloryquilts.com , but it hasn't been updated in a while. It's mostly to promote myself as a teacher, with some articles and patterns and pictures of quilts.

I recently "retired" - I have been a full-time mom for 27 years, homeschooling my three sons, and the youngest one graduated on Memorial Day weekend! So now I hope to take a while to reorganize my daily life. I've taken up running and community theater (I'm not sure about the singing and dancing, but the costuming is fun, anyhow!)

It's important to me that quiltmaking be accessible to anyone who wants to do it. I hate to see people made to feel bad when they can't afford the expensive imported fabrics or buy the newest gadgets or a fancy machine. I particularly like doing weekend retreats for ladies' church groups or quilt guilds.

Looking forward to getting to know all of you!
Old 07-07-2007, 10:46 AM

Sounds like you are in an exciting season of change in your life. I am also from Wisconsin, the Southwestern area.

I totally agree with you that quilting should be kept accessible to all without emphasizing fancy, expensive equipment and supplies.

This is a fun board with interesting, friendly and knowlegable people.

Welcome

Marybeth
Old 07-07-2007, 11:50 AM

Hi nice to meet you. Lots of lovely friendly people around here.

I'm from New Zealand, over hear everything to do with quilt making is expensive, so we tend to make fewer quilts and you probably see more scrap quilts made, also use stuff from op shops etc, where there's a will there's a way :)

A few weeks back somebody won 23 rubbermaid totes of fabric on Ebay for just a few cents a pound. I was soooo green with envy :mrgreen: :lol: