Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from Arizona >

Hello from Arizona

Hello from Arizona

Old 12-28-2011, 01:13 PM
Fabriclovr

Cool Hello from Arizona

Hi Everyone,

I have posted a little bit and figure that it is time for me to introduce myself. I really hate doing this because I don't like to toot my own horn, but here goes.

I will have been with my DH for 30 years on New Years Eve and we have been married for 29 years in Feb. I have two wonderful grown children, Matthew and Tiffani. Matthew is an established welder working for a company that helped build the light rail here in Phoenix. Tiffani is a 2nd Class Petty Officer in the US NAVY and is stationed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. My Husband Herb works for a major delivery company as a dispatcher and I drive a 40 ft school bus. I have two furry kids, Sam and Rusty (kittes)

I have been sewing and crafting for over 45 years, with the earliest quilting memories being with my grandmother hand tying a quilt she made for me on frames that my grandfather made for her when I was 10. She was into crewel embroidery and that led me into needlepoint. I dabbled in cloths making and eventually went to collage and majored in clothing and textiles where I earned my degree. I taught for a while at my local sewing machine store as their machine embroidery instructor and then found quilting. I had a business on e-bay selling sewing and quilting notions and fabric for 3 years until the economy said it was time to get a real job.

I have made countless quilts, have a stack of tops ready to quilt and am planning my next top as I write this. I consider myself a good to above average quilter, but also know that there is a lot to learn. I am considering writing a paper on how to make a Dresden Plate as so many people are afraid of this simple block and I love them.

Again, Hi to all!
Susan in warm and sunny Arizona
(72 and Sunny)

Old 12-28-2011, 01:32 PM