Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark? >

What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark?

What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark?

Old 04-08-2012, 12:58 PM

Default What Makes an Ideal Backing Fabric-small scale or lrg scale print, light or dark?

I am new to quilting and was wondering what makes a more ideal backing fabric? I was thinking medium to large scale print in medium to light tone but wanted to see what quilters who have made several quilts think.

I am thinking of a backing for a quilt that will be quilted in a "less is more" style (basic straight lines or gentle meander). I have seen a lot of solid backings in white or cream but I don't really prefer this (I know from seeing some spectacular pictures, that the solid light fabric really shows off the beautiful and intricate quilting--however, I see these quilts as being more simple in style).
Old 04-08-2012, 01:13 PM
Power Poster

Anything goes!!

If you want to have the quilting show, yes, a plain back is better ... though it does not have to be light. You can choose a thread to help it show.

If you want to disguise the quilting on the back (eg. it doesn't always look good from the back!) ... a print will help to do the trick! Large, medium or small ... your choice!

And too, some use leftovers from the front, to create a scrappy back. Or a few extra blocks leftover from the front worked into the back can be nice!

It's really a matter of what you want and prefer ... like most of quilting, there's no rules!
Old 04-08-2012, 01:21 PM

Many times I use muslim for my back, unless I want to make the quilt reversable...then I use a print.
Old 04-08-2012, 02:47 PM
Power Poster

it depends on the quilt top-