Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Newbie looking for advice on home longarm machine >

Newbie looking for advice on home longarm machine

Newbie looking for advice on home longarm machine

Old 01-06-2013, 04:48 PM

Default Newbie looking for advice on home longarm machine

I have been quilting for about 2 years and always find it difficult and cumbersome to quilt my quilts on my regular sewing machine - I have a Babylock Crafters Choice. I'm wondering about a home longarm and whether it would be a good idea to think about saving up for one. Babylock sent me an email about their new Tiara machine. Any thoughts on getting a longarm and the Tiara in particular?
Old 01-06-2013, 04:52 PM
Banned

I am planning to get one just for that reason, to quilt my own quilts. Not so fond of doing it on my regular machine. Mostly hate the basting process.
Old 01-06-2013, 05:43 PM
Power Poster

Here is a link to a recent thread that should be helpful:
http://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1...m-t206574.html

I don't know enough about the Tiara to comment on it. However, buying a longarm is a lot like buying a car -- you want to test drive different setups to find what feels most comfortable to you. Quilt guild shows are a good place to do this. Of the ones I have checked out, the Innova is the one I like the best. If I ever upgrade from my Voyager 17/Hinterberg frame setup, it will probably be to an Innova.

Edit: Keep in mind that it's not just the machine that's important; it's also the frame, and how the two work together.

It's a good idea to spend a year researching before investing in a longarm. The homequiltingsystems group at groups.yahoo.com is a good one for gathering information. It's a large, active group of people with setups ranging from the very inexpensive to top-of-the-line professional. Lots of good info there.
Old 01-06-2013, 06:17 PM