Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do I use a FMQ'ing foot, or walking foot? >

Do I use a FMQ'ing foot, or walking foot?

Do I use a FMQ'ing foot, or walking foot?

Old 03-04-2013, 05:14 PM

Default Do I use a FMQ'ing foot, or walking foot?

I have a quilt pieced and basted together, and started marking it with baptist fans. I tried using the FMQ foot, but my lines were a bit wobbly. I am still relatively new to all of this, and then I wondered if perhaps I should be using a walking foot. Would I be able to curvy lines with one?

What do the experts suggest? Right now the quilt sits in a heap at the machine, while I find all kinds of other things to create. And that's how UFO's start.

Any suggestions?
Old 03-04-2013, 05:23 PM

I only do straight stitch quilting with my walking foot. I never tried to do curves with it. You might want to do some practicing with your FMQ foot on a something to get the motion of your design down, that might help when you do the quilting. I like to have fun with my quilting so a few wavy lines would not bother me.
Old 03-04-2013, 05:29 PM
Power Poster

You can quilt gentle curves with your walking foot. The problems arise if you need to change directions with a straight stitching foot. When you FMQ you can go in all directions without having to change the quilts position in the machine harp. With the walking foot, a direction change will necessitate turning/scrunching/rolling the quilt through the harp to go in another direction.
Old 03-04-2013, 05:35 PM

FMQ gets better with.....drum roll......PRATICE. With practice your muscles loosen up and you get muscle memory. Make some practice quilt sandwiches about fat quarter size.