Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Please help-Quilting on a domestic sewing machine >

Please help-Quilting on a domestic sewing machine

Please help-Quilting on a domestic sewing machine

Old 10-11-2013, 05:02 AM

Default Please help-Quilting on a domestic sewing machine

Two years ago I received a Brother Innov-is 40, Project Runway, model NS40, sewing machine for my birthday. It works great for piecing and I would like to attempt quilting using this machine. It came with the extension table and both a darning foot and walking foot. My concerns are how well this little sewing machine can handle the bulk of a quilt sandwich. Also, as this is my first attempt using my machine to quilt, suggestions for batting and thread and any other supplies to make this an easy and successful adventure are much appreciated and welcomed. Thank you.
Old 10-11-2013, 05:27 AM
Power Poster

Start with quilting a table runner to get a feel for how to quilt on your machine. There are a couple of ways to quilt. Straight or slightly curved lines with a walking foot and the feed dogs moving the quilt. Free motion quilting with your darning or hopping foot. The FMQ is usually done with the feed dogs down and you control the stitch length by how fast you move the sandwich and the speed of your machine. Which method do you plan to use?
A lower loft batt is generally easier to maneuver through a domestic sewing machine. Find a thread that works well in your machine and try out some practice samples to set your tension set if you are trying FMQing.
Old 10-11-2013, 07:30 AM

Thank you. Your suggestions are valuable.
Old 10-11-2013, 01:52 PM

http://www.ericas.com/quilting/tools/skillbuilder.htm
This is a good website for practice panels for FMQ. Start small and there is also a book about machine quilting in sections. I love Ann Peterson on craftsy and pasty Thompson has some good free YouTube videos on it as well. Many also like Leah day as well. She also has some craftsy classes as well.