Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting on the cheap? >

Quilting on the cheap?

Quilting on the cheap?

Old 10-18-2013, 02:07 PM

Default Quilting on the cheap?

What is the most inexpensive type of quilt to make, that would be good for either straight line quilting or a FMQ newb? I just finished my second quilt; I have gotten good at piecing, but need a lot more practice before my FMQ is any good.

My mother was asking me about making a quilt for her last night, but the fabric is too expensive for her. Her bed is an extended queen, so it would require close to a king size amount of fabric. I am wondering if you guys know a secret to making inexpensive quilts. I am just starting out, so I don't have a big stash yet, nor enough scraps for a big scrap quilt.
Old 10-18-2013, 02:12 PM

Yard sales, thrift shops, friends - check out gently used shirts, skirts, sheets, etc. Ask friends who sew for scraps they might want to get rid of. Offer to swap something you have for what you are looking for. Check out the for sale or trade section on this board. Lots of good buys there!!!
Old 10-18-2013, 02:21 PM

Men's cotton shirts make lovely quilts with useful pockets in. Cotten skirts and dresses, also cotton sheets. In UK we have shops which sell cheap fabric in cut lengths .
Old 10-18-2013, 02:33 PM
Power Poster

If you are going to be machine quilting, you can keep an eye out for sheets on sale. Look for nice quality sheets with a large floral or design that you can outline stitch to practice FMQ designs.
Old 10-18-2013, 02:41 PM
Power Poster

I saw lots of nice men's dress type shirts - stripes and plaids - at garage sales this summer.
I saw very little 'quilter's cottons'
I did not find even one cotton chamois flannel shirt this summer. In fact, I did not see many flannel shirts at all.
I did not see many adult garments - besides jeans - that had fabric I would use in quilts.

I did see lots of baby and toddler clothes, dressy garments. And knit garments.

L