Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
HELP! Which sewing machine should i buy for home quilting???? >

HELP! Which sewing machine should i buy for home quilting????

HELP! Which sewing machine should i buy for home quilting????

Old 03-15-2014, 05:46 AM

Default HELP! Which sewing machine should i buy for home quilting????

Im new at quilting and i really need some advise from you guys. I currently own a brother lx2500 sewing machine and im planning on buying a new one this week. I have a king and a twin size quilt top that i want to quilt myself at home and i refuse to send it out to get them done and i really need advise on which sewing machine i should buy to be able to quilt at home at least the twin ones. My budget is up to $300.
I dont know the difference of sewing machines or what i really need to be looking for when i want to buy one. I was looking at the hsn ones with flex payments but i dont want to buy something and then wont work.
I will only be using it for quilting and fixing some clothes.
I hope you can help me
and thank you in advance.
Old 03-15-2014, 05:59 AM

Go to your dealer and see if he has any gently used ones. I love my janome 8900, but it was more than $300.
Old 03-15-2014, 06:30 AM

Vanessa Williams on Craftys tells of a cheap workhorse that she has been using and now has three, that she uses for heavy work and leaves her more expensive computerized one for other work.
Old 03-15-2014, 06:43 AM
Power Poster

If you are looking to quilt larger quilts on a domestic machine, you really only need a straight stitch for stitch in the ditch and piecing, and the ability to use a darning foot with feed dogs down. Other than that, look for the biggest harp you can find.
Old 03-15-2014, 07:49 AM