Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine Embroidery Thread >

Machine Embroidery Thread

Machine Embroidery Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 05:41 PM

Default Machine Embroidery Thread

I am new to machine embroidery. I was wondering how people buy their thread, decide which colours yo collect etc. also big or small spools?
Old 04-07-2014, 06:23 PM
Power Poster

I don't do much machine embroidery - just occasional labels for my quilts - but I do use this thread for longarming - http://www.metroemb.com/store/. They have lots of colors, the pricing is great, and there are even packages of the mini-spools.
Old 04-07-2014, 06:26 PM

Small spools (can be replenished anytime). I like Mettler Polysheen and Fil-tec Glide. I've also used some Coat's trilobal that was just fine. I just think of projects and look for colors that would work well with those.
Old 04-07-2014, 06:57 PM

My sister and I each bought a different set of all colors off Amazon when we got our machines. We just add to it if we need something different than we have. The only ones we have had trouble with are the color twist from thread art. Those sew fine in a regular machine but not the embroidery one. Just get a basic set to start with so you have a variety to practice with, then add as you need.
Old 04-07-2014, 07:05 PM

Even though I don't have an embroidery machine, I use machine embroidery thread for my FMQ, I absolutely love it for the actual quilting. I get my embroidery thread from http://www.metroemb.com/store/ also. I personally try to get the big spools, as far as deciding what colors, I pick colors that work with the fabric colors that ,I work with on the average, I don't work with "earthtone" colors a lot so I just have a couple spools of "earthtone" threads, but have quite a few purples, pinks, reds, blues, etc.
Old 04-07-2014, 07:16 PM