Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sale fabric - how much to buy? >

Sale fabric - how much to buy?

Sale fabric - how much to buy?

Old 05-23-2014, 11:10 AM

Default Sale fabric - how much to buy?

Just wondering how much yardage you buy when you run across a great sale on fabric you just can't pass up, but don't have a particular quilt or pattern in mind. I'm just beginning my adventures into quilting, so any advise will be appreciated.
Old 05-23-2014, 11:14 AM
Power Poster

As much as you can afford and have room for.

It seems that some prints have a very short run - and once they are gone - they are never to be seen again.

On the other hand, buying on sale (excessively) can turn into an addiction.
Old 05-23-2014, 11:17 AM
Power Poster

If I love it and it is on sale, 3 yds. That is long enough to cut continuous border pieces for most quilts, long enough for a small quilt back etc.
Old 05-23-2014, 11:36 AM
Power Poster

If it would make a good backing, 5 yards. If it would make a good border, 3 yards. If there are lots of different fabrics I like, 1 yard each.
Old 05-23-2014, 11:51 AM

It depends on the fabric and how I plan to use the fabric. I agree with Tartan, if the fabric would be a focal part of the quilt. Sometimes you know it will make a perfect backing, then I buy the size of an average quilt for me, usually 5 - 6 yards. The next thing I look at is how the pattern repeats. I do not buy fat quarters because they never seem to be enough, so I buy a minimum of 1 yard because I know that I can make a rail fence quilt with 4 - 1 yard pieces of fabric to make a nice size throw. So try and determine what type of quilts you like to make and what size fabric do you need for those quilts.
Old 05-23-2014, 12:36 PM