Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you.... >

How do you....

How do you....

Old 01-29-2015, 09:34 PM

Default How do you....

I am new to this message board. I always end up buying too much fabric. How do you all try to buy the right amount. Is there a good calculator to use?
Old 01-29-2015, 09:49 PM

Originally Posted by Quiltaria View Post
I am new to this message board. I always end up buying too much fabric. How do you all try to buy the right amount. Is there a good calculator to use?
Not sure what you really mean by the right amount. But if you are following a pattern, they usually have yardage amounts. If I don't have a specific pattern, yardage amounts will also depend on the size of the quilt I'm making. Anyway, any "extra" fabric goes into my stash for future quilts.

ETA: there is an app called Quilt Calc that also might be of some help. I have it on my phone and kindle fire. You could calculate, backing & binding yardage as well as border yardage.

Last edited by Sync; 01-29-2015 at 09:55 PM.
Old 01-29-2015, 10:04 PM

If I am using a pattern I usually buy the specified yardage or a little over to allow for shrinkage or errors. If I am making up my design, I go through the math to determine the amount of fabric needed for a block--then multiply that out based upon the size of the quilt I am going to make. It might help to make a sample block first to get the amount of fabric needed, then multiply that by the number of blocks. Then calculate the amount for borders (if any). I cut binding strips 2 1/4" wide and based upon the finished size you can calculate the amount of yardage based upon the number of strips needed. Lastly the backing. I don't usually buy backing until I am done with the quilt top and see what scraps and extra blocks I have left and piece those together first, then buy enough backing fabric to get the right size.