Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilt tags >

quilt tags

quilt tags

Old 08-24-2015, 03:27 AM

Default quilt tags

If I want to make my own quilt label and embroider a design or name on it do I need to use a special type of fabric and/or a stabiliser? I've never used my lettering function and I have been asked to make a label for the current quilt I am making and gifting. I don't want to buy a label...thought I might make my own and even have a go at doing the lettering etc with the Bernina. Any ideas for a complete novice at this?
Old 08-24-2015, 04:25 AM

You can use the same fabric as the quilt or you can use any good cotton fabric to make a label. You will need to use a stabilizer under the fabric if you plan to do the lettering in the hoop. You may want to use a tear away or a wash away stabilizer - choice is up to you. If you have a very light weight stabilizer, you can double it up under the fabric. If you are just using the lettering function built into the machine, you can do it on just fabric but a light stabilizer under it might give you a better result. You might want to check out YouTube for videos of how to do this. Hope you post a picture when finished so we can see your great work!
Old 08-24-2015, 04:40 AM
dd

I try to used a piece of the same light color fabric I used in the quilt. Once for a wedding I made a border with a wedding print even tho I hadn't used it in the quilt. Sometimes I used a left over block and sometimes I just use a piece of muslin. I lightly mark lines on the fabric so the wording is straight. I always use tear away stabilizer because the lettering usually bunches up the fabric if I don't. I had an "M" mess up last time even with the stabilizer.
Old 08-24-2015, 12:19 PM