Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting on a budget...... >

Quilting on a budget......

Quilting on a budget......

Old 02-03-2016, 06:34 PM

Default Quilting on a budget......

I am new to quilting and really enjoy it. Today I went to the quilt shop (closest is 65 miles away) to buy backing and binding for a twin size quilt. I was surprised to find all the fabric was $10.99 and up. It's been years since I have bought new fabric I had no idea that it was so expensive. I'm afraid that I won't be able to continue to quilt because of the price of fabric. Can you help me with suggestions on how to quilt economically. How about the prices online are they as expensive? I live in a rural area and have to drive to get to any store that sells fabric. How about Hobby Lobby and Joanns's is their fabric ok to quilt with?
Old 02-03-2016, 06:46 PM

I buy some quilt store fabric. (When the budget permits.) I quilt and sew predominantly with JoAnn's, Hobby Lobby and Wal-mart too. And, those quilts hold up just fine. Wal-mart is now carrying a line of Waverly fabrics and it's between 2.97 and 3.97 a yard. They have solids, tonals and fun prints. I buy JoAnn Fabrics when they are 40 or 50 percent off. Or, with a coupon. Yes, the quilt store fabric does have a nice touch and quality. But, I can't make a whole quilt out of it. Usually, I buy fat quarters or 1/2 yard cuts of those. And, I save up for them. Also, check out connectingthreads.com. I buy their cotton thread and they have great regular prices and sale prices all the time. I have personal experience with their fabric and like them.
Old 02-03-2016, 07:15 PM

thrift shops! i always check church sales -- it's great when you can get a whole bag full of fabric for a dollar or two!
[i recycle clothing into quilts -- especially denim! & there's always plenty of that at sales]
Old 02-03-2016, 07:15 PM