Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Charity Quilt Tops Smell Too Bad to Quilt >

Charity Quilt Tops Smell Too Bad to Quilt

Charity Quilt Tops Smell Too Bad to Quilt

Old 08-26-2016, 02:43 AM

Unhappy Charity Quilt Tops Smell Too Bad to Quilt

Help! I have 4 tops from my QOV group to be longarmed. They smell so bad I can't work on them. Does anyone know how to get the smell out? Can they be soaked/washed gently? Or is airing them the only way?
I honestly don't know how the owner could stand to piece them. They were all made from kits the group coordinator put together out of fabric she had stored somewhere. They smell musty. Dealing with perfumey scents from soap is one thing, but these are just awful.
My longarm is new. I bought it in part to do donation work. So this is my first time doing donation quilts or a quilt other than my own. If this is going to be an ongoing problem I need to know how to safely destink tops.
Any suggestions?

SVAL
Old 08-26-2016, 03:12 AM
Power Poster

Send them back and tell why you are unable to work on them. It is their job to make sure they are clean. I have send tops back over smaller issues.
Old 08-26-2016, 03:19 AM
Power Poster

You really can't wash them. Would something like Febreze work?? Than at least the quilt can be salvaged.
Old 08-26-2016, 03:25 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by ManiacQuilter2 View Post
You really can't wash them. Would something like Febreze work?? Than at least the quilt can be salvaged.
Some people are sensitive to Febreeze - so with the original problem plus the Febreeze - might that make it even worse for seal?

Are these making your allergies act up?
Old 08-26-2016, 03:40 AM

Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post
Some people are sensitive to Febreeze - so with the original problem plus the Febreeze - might that make it even worse for seal?

Are these making your allergies act up?