Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilt Panels >

quilt Panels

quilt Panels

Old 08-26-2016, 08:42 AM

Default quilt Panels

I am fairly new to quilting. I would like to make a quilt from a quilt panel. Is there anywhere I may go to learn how to make a full size quilt around a quilt panel? I have looked at several web sites and just seems confusing.

I thought about buying software but cannot find anything. Would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you for your advice.
Old 08-26-2016, 09:18 AM
Power Poster

If you have a specific panel in mind, go to that fabric manufacturer's web site. They often have a sample quilt made from that panel. You can also google panel quilts which should give you some ideas. Printed panels are different sizes. They usually (but not always) are about 42", which is the width of the fabric. From there they vary by width. If you are not using a pattern specifically for that panel, you may need to do some math to make the surround come out even. if you go to a quilt shop, they often have coordinating fabrics, sometimes with smaller panels. What specifically are you finding confusing?
Old 08-26-2016, 09:30 AM

All of it! I have no idea how to get started. Panel is 24'' x 44''.
Old 08-26-2016, 09:54 AM
Power Poster

Full size batting is 84"x96". You need to measure the bed and see if that size or a little smaller or larger is what size you need. Ok, your panel is 24 so you need to add 30" to each side of the panel. Your length is 44 so you need to add 26" to the top and bottom. This is going to be quite a challenge being a newbie.

Can you tell us the manufacturer of the panel and the name on the selvage. That might help us to know if there is a coornating print that goes with the panel. I would draw a pattern on Eq7 if I knew what the panel was.