A new (old) machine

Old 12-26-2017, 11:21 AM

Default A new (old) machine

Hi, Newbie here, so if I transgress some social norm let me know.

My wife loves all thing Swedish. Every so often she goes over to look at Swedish people, or something: I wouldn't know. I stay home and see to the dogs and chickens.

I have restored a couple of Husqvarnas for her, zig-zags with cams in sleek pea green metallic hiding delrin and nylon bits: not my favorites. Arriving tomorrow will be one I do like, a Model 12/cb-n with a 110v motor. 40's maybe. I can't find too much about it, though I do have a free pdf manual I printed out. I could well be wrong, but it looks like a pretty basic class 15 straight stitch. Probably does not have reverse (so what). Because I am a retired teacher, if I want nice stuff, I have to buy it in a state of ruination, and so it is here. It's an as-is, not working special with the electrical system (such as it is!) cut to pieces. Sounds like fun. The chrome (nickel?) and paint look pretty good, all the parts Seem to be there, and I believe I can get the mechanicals straightened out. As for parts, the old parts and a little brass shim stock will have to do.

If anyone has knowledge of this machine - idiosyncracies, tips, quirks - I'd love to hear. Thank you.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-30-2017 at 11:22 AM. Reason: shouting/all caps
Old 12-27-2017, 10:02 AM