Chosen Career

Old 01-02-2018, 05:40 AM

Question Chosen Career

I was asking myself the other day how do the younger generation choose their professions nowadays. Some take years to finish college and have more than one degree and still cant find gainful employment.
When I was younger I knew I wanted to be a nurse. I always gravitated toward Science and healing. So I wonder with current board members, how did you become what you are? Are you doing something you always wanted to do or did you change in midstream and are now doing something you never thought you would be doing?
Old 01-02-2018, 06:31 AM
Power Poster

All my schooling life I either wanted to be a nurse or a teacher. I settled for teacher after having a difficult time in a chemistry class. I retired from teaching 9 years ago.
Old 01-02-2018, 08:08 AM

I first became a teacher because that's what my parents expected of me. According to all my performance reviews, I was a good teacher, but my heart was never in it. Because my DH and I moved frequently early in his career, I took a tax class so that I knew how to handle all the moves, house sales, etc. for tax purposes. That led to working for a tax firm, and then a CPA firm. I took enough classes to sit for the CPA exam. I was 43 when I started working as an accountant for a large financial services firm. I loved it! I wish I had started in accounting, but I went to a small rural high school and didn't even know what an accountant was. The girls in my high school graduating class either married, or became secretaries, nurses, or teachers.
Old 01-02-2018, 10:49 AM
Power Poster