Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need help with a quilt pattern >

Need help with a quilt pattern

Need help with a quilt pattern

Old 01-19-2018, 01:33 PM

Default Need help with a quilt pattern

I want to make this quilt. It uses a panel that Moda made in 2011 for Quilting Across Texas, a shop hop. I found this photo online, but the shop is no longer in business, so I can't buy the pattern. I'm not very experienced at quilting, so I'm not quite sure how to tackle the center section.

Should those two little squares in center have an extra piece on the side to make them come out even with the rectangles above and below (seems ugly)? If I make the center section of the two small squares and it's two borders as a section, then I'll have funny seams against the square sections. (I hope that makes sense.) That's my main concern. How do I do that center section?

I bought the other fabrics today (not these colors). The lady at the quilt shop helped figure the amount of fabric needed and I bought a little extra. So, now I'm trying to figure out how I'm going to do it.

Thanks,

bkay
[ATTACH=CONFIG]587329[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails cowboy2.jpg  
Old 01-19-2018, 01:46 PM

Looking at the photo, it seems that the two little center squares are slightly inset as compared to the larger blocks above and below it. However if you want them to be even in your quilt, you might add a narrow band of yellow all the way around, like the top right large block and the 2nd large block from the top on the left.

Or you could increase the gap between the two small blocks so that the outside edges line up.
Old 01-19-2018, 02:04 PM

That's just a discoloration in the photo (probably lighting problem). It's really a row of white stars on a red background. It's used on part of the panel, so I can't duplicate it.

bkay
[ATTACH=CONFIG]587333[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails dsc_1591a.jpg  
Old 01-19-2018, 02:34 PM