Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt block help >

Quilt block help

Quilt block help

Old 10-17-2018, 12:22 PM

Default Quilt block help

Hi, I was wondering if anyone knew what this block would be called? This is a picture of a barn quilt that my friend's husband made for her. She would like to have it as a quilt block so it can be made into a pillow (so she can have an inside and outside version!). It would need to finish at 12" square... I don't know how I would go about making this from scratch... The barn quilt is huge at 6 feet square! And I'm not that good at math to shrink it!

Any help/ideas/suggestions appreciated! Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails barn-quilt.jpg  
Old 10-17-2018, 02:16 PM
Power Poster

What a terrific idea!
That design would be perfect as a PP pattern, and could easily be drawn up and stitched together.

You have a good photo. Work with it and overlay your lines for your PP parts.
Then blow each section up whatever % it will take you to get to the size you want.

Clear as mud?
Old 10-17-2018, 07:02 PM

I am making barn quilts and I take a quilt pattern and draw it onto graph paper which is 1/4" = 1" block. It would have to be 12-1/2" square to finish at 12". I would really like to see a wall hanging made. Anyway, if you have the graph paper, draw a square 12-1/2" square. That would be 12 and 1/2 blocks each way. Then draw from corner to corner each way, then draw a grid of 4 each way. Start in the middle and draw your small square. Then continue to draw it out. If you need help, I can do it for you. Just pm me. By the way, I think this is called triple star.
Old 10-18-2018, 02:17 AM

I think paper piecing is the way to go for this one since you want to keep it at 12". If you were to go bigger, say baby quilt size, I would use a lone star pattern made from jelly roll strips using a design wall to make sure that instead of separating like colors you would have like colors next to each other (the maroon, for instance).