Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Servicing Newly Acquired Vintage Singer Machines >

Servicing Newly Acquired Vintage Singer Machines

Servicing Newly Acquired Vintage Singer Machines

Old 03-30-2019, 03:24 AM

Question Servicing Newly Acquired Vintage Singer Machines

I purchased a Singer 66-16 and a 401A this week, both in working condition. The 66 hasn't been used in 10 years, and the 401A seller is unsure of last use. I have manuals for both and can clearly see where to oil / lube parts on both machines. Would you suggest that I still take these machines to an authorized dealer to "service" them before use? I just took in my Singer 99, and the bill was $85 for cleaning/service. That machine hadn't been used for 40 years (last use by ME when I was 10!)...and only needed belt replaced. I would love to avoid 2 more $85 invoices, if possible, but I'm a newbie to using/maintaining these amazing battleship-built machines. TIA for your input.
Old 03-30-2019, 04:43 AM

You are correct, most and usually all maintenance can easily be performed by the owner. In fact, the owner's manual covers basic maintenance.

The owner can even rewire the s.m., following a good tutorial, with some basic skills and attention to detail. There are many sources here and on the web.

I have successfully rewired Singer lights, replaced wires to foot controllers, and rewired my 15-91. DH did the soldering for me, as that is a skill I haven't learned yet. The correct tools are necessary, and relatively inexpensive.

You can even dissassemble, clean, and reassemble the cam stack on the 401. Find some good resources, go slow, take photos of.every.single.step. (My 401 needs a spa day.)

Enjoy!
Old 03-30-2019, 07:16 AM

Originally Posted by WIChix View Post
Find some good resources, go slow, take photos of.every.single.step.