Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Have you done a Quilt as You Go Quilt? >

Have you done a Quilt as You Go Quilt?

Have you done a Quilt as You Go Quilt?

Old 12-15-2019, 08:47 PM

Default Have you done a Quilt as You Go Quilt?

I am intrigued by the idea. Have you done a QAYG quilt?
happy with the results?
did you quilt with the backing fabric on as well?
thanks in advance for sharing😊
Old 12-15-2019, 09:15 PM

I made a small one in a class where we did each block separately as a double sided quilt block and then used the narrow sashing to attach the blocks to each other.
Old 12-15-2019, 09:26 PM

I have been doing qayg for about 20 years, it is nearly the only way I quilt. I love it. I do not do the typical squares w/ narrow sashing.
Old 12-16-2019, 12:09 AM

Originally Posted by Kassaundra View Post
I have been doing qayg for about 20 years, it is nearly the only way I quilt. I love it. I do not do the typical squares w/ narrow sashing.
Curious as to how you do your qayg, Kassaundra, if you don't do typical squares.
Old 12-16-2019, 01:10 AM

I've seen a QAYG method where the blocks of the left hand column are joined, then layered onto columns of batting and backing and then quilted upto 1.5" of each edge. The next column of blocks (second from the left) is joined to to the first column before that column of batting and backing is added. This column can then be quilted including the part of the previous column that hadn't been done. The next column is added and so on until all columns have been added and quilted.

Whilst you will be wrangling a larger and larger amount of quilt, no more than the width of one column will be under the throat of the machine. I confess that this is still on my list of things to try, but if you want a go you will find a tute on Youtube.
Old 12-16-2019, 01:26 AM

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=L_b9WjeP0mU

This set of tutorials - there are 3 - is similar to How I QAYG.
Old 12-16-2019, 03:17 AM