Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
My first rodeo... hey ya >

My first rodeo... hey ya

My first rodeo... hey ya

Old 04-01-2020, 01:08 PM

Default My first rodeo... hey ya

Out the gate...

I am an absolute first timer here. This is my very first time in a forum, following my inheritance of my very first sewing machine. I'm riding a 401A Singer Ladies and Gents, and I'm excited to join the club. . I have lots of questions and I'm already thankful for this resource!

I scrolled by the machine embroidery section and I think I'll start there! What kind of thread should I use? Im jumping in. Thanks again... and to you !

Signing out from OR,
Best!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 04-01-2020 at 06:39 PM. Reason: shouting/all caps
Old 04-01-2020, 02:04 PM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. Most vintage Singers are not thread fussy. Use a regular about 50 wt. thread cotton or polyester/cotton blend.
Old 04-01-2020, 02:04 PM

Welcome to the rodeo! I have learned so much following people and asking questions.
I do both quilting and machine embroidery. My favorite is polyester - but also use rayon. It depends what color works best for my project. Because I like to have a large variety of colors I buy primarily from Threadart.com. They have a lot of sales and shipping is low. But I like Sulky and various others. For me it really depends on the project and the color I need. When I started I went to the Sewing Machines Plus store in San Marcos CA - they had a couple of thread bundles on sale that were fabulous so they were my starter kits.
Again, welcome and enjoy the site.
Old 04-01-2020, 02:11 PM