Boye #13 Shuttle

Old 04-26-2020, 02:22 PM

Default Boye #13 Shuttle

I am new to working on sewing machines and very new to this group. I just picked up a National vibrating, or long, shuttle machine VB-TT Type 5 and it is complete except it is missing the shuttle/bobbin. I think I have narrowed it down to a Boye #13 and the only one I've found is on ebay for over $39, but I paid only $10 for the machine.
If anyone knows where I can find one for less than $39 that would be great. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails img_0131.jpg  

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 04-27-2020 at 05:25 PM. Reason: buying/selling/trading is permitted only in the Thrift Shop forums
Old 04-26-2020, 06:33 PM

Boye 13 is new old stock so it should be more expensive than used but sometimes a bargain turns up. Try searching National, Eldredge and popular National brand names like Damascus. These will be used and usually lower in cost. Bonanza and Etsy are other search place options.

Jon
Old 04-27-2020, 07:31 AM

Thanks for the info. I will look around that way and see what I can find. I'd like to see if the machine actually sews, it seems to be in good condition so I expect it to work just fine, once I find a shuttle/bobbin.
Old 05-07-2020, 03:56 PM

Thanks to Jon's tips, I broadened my search a bit and think I found a shuttle, it fits anyway, and looks locked in place. I've never used a vibrating shuttle machine and once I had it threaded and went to test, the top stitch looked OK but there were tons of loops of thread on the bottom, all about 3/8" long.

I tried searching the forum for this problem but my search terms were too common so the results were more generalized.

Can anyone point me to a thread which might address this problem?

Thanks!
Old 05-07-2020, 05:56 PM

It may be as simple as the upper thread tension being too loose.
As a general rule, issues on the bottom of the fabric indicate a tension issue on the top, and issues on the top indicate a tension issue on the bottom.