Sailrite Sewing Machines

Old 07-10-2020, 12:03 PM

Default Sailrite Sewing Machines

I mostly sew with cotton material but have been trying my hand at thicker fabrics and my sewing machine has been groaning a bit and I am afraid I am pushing too hard. I was sort of checking out Sailrite machines and was wondering if anyone got one of the machines. I realize they cannot be brought to a local dealer but what I would like is a heavy duty machine without the servo motor (not that I am an expert on it but it seems like a bigger deal to have). The Sailrite LSZ-1 basic walking machine seems like a heavy duty machine that is a little simpler like my machine.

Thanks for any help!
Old 07-10-2020, 05:50 PM

Gee - I’ve never heard of Sailrite sewing machines so I don’t feel competent on making comments. Having somewhere to take a sewing machine when things go bump in he night is always a good thing. Lots of repair people won’t even work in mechanical machines since there are so many computerized ones in the market. I’m not sure how heavy the fabric is you want to use but my older machines have no trouble with many thicknesses. I would suggest you take a look around before making your purchase % take fabric you want to use when you shop for maybe an older machine to test what it can sew. I’m just suspicious of names thst I’ve never heard of and I’ve heard if most, even the older Singer clones. And as a P.S. I’d never purchase any Simger from the last 50 or so years - they are very plastic inside. Hope maybe this helps a little.

Sandy in Mooresville, NC
Old 07-10-2020, 05:55 PM

Just curious so I googled them, they are made in China - but the info says to a higher rating. Retail place is in Indiana. Honestly, that makes me even more suspicious, Again, just my opinion, my older Pfaff 1473 can sew through lots of layers.

sandy in NC
Old 07-10-2020, 06:13 PM