Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do I fix curved pieces strips?! >

How do I fix curved pieces strips?!

How do I fix curved pieces strips?!

Old 08-12-2020, 12:40 PM

Default How do I fix curved pieces strips?!

Help! I’m new to quilting and I’ve been attempting a friendship braid quilt. I’ve just finished sewing my long strips but some are curving! Is this something I can fix when I sew them all together or do I need to like rip them all apart and start again? I was careful to press and not iron the pieces as I sewed them together, but clearly I failed somewhere. All advice is greatly appreciated!!
Old 08-12-2020, 01:28 PM

I like to lay them out as straight as I can on the ironing board, spritz them with some starch, let it rest for a minute and absorb, then press, making sure they stay straight.
Old 08-12-2020, 03:59 PM
KLO

I think one of the things you should do (if I understand what you wrote) is sew every other strip on from the opposite end. That is, sew the first two strips together starting at one end then add the next strip but start the sewing from the opposite end that you did the first two. I can only hope this makes some sense to you and even answers your question. If not, you will get other replies that may be better and make more sense. Oh and welcome to the Wonderful World of Quilting!
Old 08-12-2020, 04:03 PM
Power Poster

Welcome to this board.

Be sure to even up your cuts every so many strips. A book that has directions for cutting strips would be very helpful.
Old 08-12-2020, 05:21 PM

I think you are saying that you are sewing strips together and they end up looking like a "smile" when you iron them?