Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Deadly Taffeta quilt- Backing and batting? >

Deadly Taffeta quilt- Backing and batting?

Deadly Taffeta quilt- Backing and batting?

Old 10-09-2020, 11:01 AM

Default Deadly Taffeta quilt- Backing and batting?

Hi all,
Newbie here looking for advice on finishing one of my mom’s less-practical projects from 30 years ago. She gave me 20 blocks of fan-pattern made from taffeta, assembled on squares of old flannel sheets. Four and a half of the blocks have hand embroidery so I will have to complete the embroidery on the rest (thanks mom)!

This is obviously going to be a wall hanging rather than a quilt that will be used on a bed. I certainly wouldn’t want to wash it!

Given that, what should I use for batting and backing? Something that won’t stretch and will provide stability is what I am thinking. Or should I use batting at all??

I was going to put narrow sashing of black cotton between the blocks when they are sewn together. I don’t want to make it too large (a giant wall hanging needs a giant wall) but I don’t want to sew the taffeta blocks directly to each other.

I haven’t thought much about the actual quilting but would probably do just stitch in the ditch around the outer edges of the fans and along the sashing seams as minimizing the number of needle holes in the taffeta seems wise.

thanks in advance for any advice! Hoping to finish this in time to give it to my sister for Christmas.

Rrainea in Canada
Old 10-09-2020, 05:03 PM
Power Poster

Instead of trying to put a lot of squares together - you could take each block and frame it - you would probably need to use archival types of matting - several framed blocks displayed together could make a statement - or if you want to share them with several family members - you would have several pieces available.

The only other suggestion I would have would be to put enough squares together to cover a decorative pillow - for looking at only.

Old 10-17-2020, 01:48 PM